The Secret Life of Books OU/BBC series begins 2 September 2014

Reading a book, by Pedro Ribeiro Simões from Flickr. CC-BY 2.0

Reading a book, by Pedro Ribeiro Simões from Flickr. 
CC-BY 2.0

The Secret Life of Books, a new 6 part OU/BBC series, starts on BBC Four on Tuesday 2 September 2014 at 20:30. The academic consultant for the series was Professor Nicola Watson, Open University Department of English, and for the associated app Dr Jonathan Gibson, Open University’s Department of English and team member of the Reading Experience Database.

Presented by Simon Russell Beale, Bidisha, Alexandra Harris, Tony Jordan, Cerys Matthews and Dr Alice Roberts, the series covers the stories behind the authors of the following novels:

Episode 1 – Great Expectations, 2nd September
Episode 2 – The First Folio, 9th of September
Episode 3 – Mrs Dalloway, 16th September
Episode 4 – The Mabinogion, 23rd September
Episode 5 – Jane Eyre, 30th September
Episode 6 – Frankenstein , 2 November

To support the series The Open University working in partnership with the BBC has produced a free app which can be downloaded from iTunes or Google Play. Links to these can be found on OpenLearn.

OpenLearn also has extensive content in connection with the programmes subject areas. For more information go to
(Please note that content may not be available before the date of broadcast).

See the BBC’s programme page at